Sipar publishing: a unique know-how in Cambodia

édition de livres au cambodge

Jacqueline Kerguéno, former press editor and member of the Board of Directors at Sipar, explains why the Sipar publishing house is special and unique in Cambodia, thanks to a know-how that has greatly developed since 2000. She testifies.

"When you leaf through the Sipar Edition catalogue, with regard to local editorial production, two particularities emerge by their originality: books for early childhood, (less than 6) and documentaries for young people (6-18 years old). Cambodian children's book producers mainly publish traditional tales, illustrated albums, inspired by local folklore or animated television films," explained Jacqueline Kerguéno.

 

Educational picture books: a specialty of Sipar Publishing

 This production began in 2010, at the same time as the development of kindergartens in Cambodia's main cities.

The Sipar editorial team had the chance to benefit from training led by an artistic director, Anna Tran, from Bayard France (who publishes Pomme d’Api).

Some members of the team quickly realized that simple images, in relation to the familiar world of a child, can help him develop his intelligence and communication skills. Exchanges with the adult who reads or comments on the magier help the child to recognize the first symbols, to become more observant of what surrounds him. The progressive recognition of images increasingly structured and developed according to age, facilitates the construction of language.

For 2-4 years old, little by little, magiers have been created with various themes, linked to the living environment of the little ones (house, familiar objects, food, family life). Then, for the older ones, 4-6 years old, an observation of the Cambodian environment (city, countryside, transport, school). And also festivals, local events (Khmer New Year, Water Festival, zodiac signs...).

The picture books are accompanied by words in Khmer and English. They can serve as a learning medium for the first writings (5-6 years), reading being facilitated by image recognition.

In 2018, team members visited Montessori schools in Phnom Penh, where all printed learning tools were exclusively in English... for English-speaking students, but also Cambodians. We wanted to allow all children to benefit from this method, recognized worldwide, by making them accessible in their mother tongue.

The next step was to publish a box set of five Montessori albums in Khmer, for an approach to reading that was both educational and fun. Vanthary Oum, editor at Sipar, with a pedagogical training and a good experience of children made in 2019 these albums to discover the consonants and the numbers up to 10. A second box, published in 2022, continues these learnings with vowels and geometric bases.

Given the success of these albums, the first Montessori material in Khmer in the country, Sipar is preparing for 2023 another series, stages of entry into reading level 1 (CP), first words that make sense and other mathematical notions.

 

The documentaries for young people: knowing how to adapt to each age

 Creating a documentary requires a technique of searching for targeted information based on the theme and age of the reader. It is necessary to know how to presentthis information to the reader to help him understand new concepts for him, by offering images, texts, a model, which will be as many doors of entry into the chosen subject.

It is a unique know-how at Sipar, which the team has acquired over the years, thanks to the support of Françoise Récamier, (former editor-in-chief of Image Doc and Okapi in Bayard France and member of the Board) then by participating in some training sessions led by publishers from France or elsewhere. To date, a Cambodian publisher does not know how to create youth documentaries taking these requirements into account.

Sipar has a rich catalogue of documentaries for readers from 8 to 16 years old, and for adults.

Some titles are created locally to discover the environment (Angkor explained to young people, The diversity of Cambodia, the History of the Khmer...). Other titles, of a universal nature, are translated, and sometimes adapted, after purchase of rights in various countries (Korea, Japan, France, USA ...) Titles in comics, on the History of Science, the History of the World, the Human Body, are very popular with middle and high school students and this format is expected to develop in the years to come.

The collection Discover... helps 8-12 year old to decorate universes such as the birds of the Tonle Sap, the animals of the oceans, the savannah, the ice floes... etc. Many images, photos, illustrations, targeted texts, are laid out to help understanding and discovery.

We are proud of our Edition team, which now includes seven people, five editors and two layout designers, who in 20 years have developed the Sipar publishing house. Every year new titles are published and old ones reprinted, much to the delight of Cambodian readers. Since 2000, we have published 244 titles in 16 collections and 3.1 million copies have been published! In 2021 and despite the teleworking implemented within our teams, the publishing department was able to produce 24 new books. Congratulations to them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Les éditions Sipar : un savoir-faire unique au Cambodge

édition de livres au cambodge

Jacqueline Kerguéno, ancienne éditrice presse et membre du Conseil d’Administration au Sipar, nous explique en quoi la maison d’édition Sipar est particulière et unique au Cambodge, grâce à un savoir-faire qui s’est grandement développé depuis 2000. Elle témoigne.

« Quand on feuillette le catalogue de Sipar Edition, au regard de la production éditoriale locale, deux particularités émergent par leur originalité: les livres pour la petite enfance, (moins de 6 ans) et les documentaires pour les jeunes (6-18 ans). Les producteurs de livres jeunesse cambodgiens publient essentiellement des contes traditionnels, des albums illustrés, en s’inspirant du folklore local ou de films d’animation télévisés », explique Jacqueline Kerguéno.

 

Les imagiers à caractère pédagogique : une spécialité de Sipar Edition

 Cette production a commencé en 2010, en même temps que le développement des écoles maternelles dans les principales villes du Cambodge.

L’équipe éditoriale Sipar a eu la chance de bénéficier d’une formation animée par une directrice artistique, Anna Tran, venue de Bayard France (qui édite notamment Pomme d’Api).

Quelques membres de l’équipe ont vite compris que des images simples, en relation avec l’univers familier d’un enfant, peuvent l’aider à développer son intelligence et ses capacités de communication. Les échanges avec l’adulte qui lit ou commente l’imagier aident l’enfant à reconnaître les premiers symboles, à devenir plus observateur de ce qui l’entoure. La reconnaissance progressive des images de plus en plus structurées et élaborées en fonction de l’âge, facilite la construction du langage.

Pour les 2-4 ans, peu à peu ont été créés des imagiers aux thèmes variés, liés au milieu de vie des petits (maison, objets familiers, nourriture, vie de la famille). Puis, pour les plus grands, 4-6 ans, une observation de l’environnement cambodgien (ville, campagne, transports, école). Et aussi les fêtes, les évènements locaux (le Nouvel an khmer, la Fête des Eaux, les signes du zodiaque…).

Les grands imagiers sont accompagnés de mots en khmer et en anglais. Ils peuvent servir de support d’apprentissage des premiers écrits (5-6 ans), la lecture étant facilitée par la reconnaissance de l’image.

En 2018, des membres de l’équipe ont visité des écoles Montessori à Phnom Penh, où tous les outils d’apprentissages imprimés étaient exclusivement en anglais… pour des élèves anglophones, mais aussi cambodgiens. Nous souhaitions alors permettre à tous les enfants de pouvoir profiter de cette méthode, reconnue mondialement, en les rendant accessible dans leur langue maternelle.

L’étape suivante a donc été d’éditer un coffret de cinq albums Montessori en khmer, pour une approche de la lecture à la fois pédagogique et ludique. Vanthary Oum, éditrice au Sipar, ayant une formation pédagogique et une bonne expérience des enfants a réalisé en 2019 ces albums pour découvrir les consonnes et les chiffres jusqu’à 10. Un deuxième coffret, publié en 2022, continue ces apprentissages avec les voyelles et les bases géométriques.

Devant le succès de ces albums, premier matériel Montessori en khmer dans le pays, Sipar prépare pour 2023 une autre série, étapes d’entrée dans la lecture de niveau 1 (CP), premiers mots qui font du sens et  d’autres notions mathématiques.

 

Les  documentaires pour les jeunes : savoir s’adapter à chaque âge

 Créer un documentaire suppose une technique de recherche d’informations ciblées en fonction du thème et de l’âge du lecteur. Il faut savoir présenter ces informations au lecteur pour l’aider à comprendre des notions nouvelles pour lui, en lui proposant des images, des textes, une maquette, qui seront autant de portes d’entrée dans le sujet choisi.

C’est un savoir faire unique au Sipar, que l’équipe a acquis au fil des années, grâce à l’accompagnement de Françoise Récamier, (ex rédactrice en chef d’Image Doc et d’Okapi à Bayard France et membre du CA) puis en participant à quelques sessions de formation animées par des éditeurs venus de France ou d’ailleurs. A ce jour, aucun éditeur Cambodgien ne sait créer des documentaires jeunesse en tenant compte de ces exigences.

Sipar a un catalogue riche en documentaires pour des lecteurs de 8 à 16 ans, et pour des adultes.

Certains titres sont créés localement pour faire découvrir l’environnement (Angkor expliqué aux jeunes, La biodiversité du Cambodge, l’Histoire des Khmers…). D’autres titres, à caractère universel, sont traduits, et parfois adaptés, après achat de droits dans divers pays (Corée, Japon, France, USA…) Des titres en BD, sur l’Histoire des Sciences, l’Histoire du Monde, le Corps Humain, sont très appréciés des collégiens et lycéens et ce format est appelé à se développer dans les années à venir.

La collection A la Découverte de… aide les 8-12 ans à découvrir des univers tels que les oiseaux du Tonlé Sap, les animaux des océans, de la savane, de la banquise… etc. Beaucoup d’images, des photos, des illustrations, des textes ciblés, sont mis en page pour aider à la compréhension et à la découverte.

Nous sommes fier de notre équipe Edition, qui compte aujourd’hui sept personnes,  cinq rédacteurs et deux maquettistes, qui en 20 ans ont su développer la maison d’édition Sipar. Chaque année de nouveaux titres sont publiés et d’anciens réimprimés, au plus grand plaisir des lecteurs cambodgiens. Depuis 2000, nous avons publié 244 titres dans 16 collections et 3,1 millions d’exemplaires ont été publiés ! En 2021 et malgré le télétravail mis en place au sein de nos équipes, le département édition a pu produire 24 nouveaux livres. Bravo à eux.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Nous utilisons des cookies pour vous garantir la meilleure expérience sur notre site web.