our story

key dates

1982: Sipar was born in France

Sipar was born to help welcome and integrate Cambodian, Vietnamese and Laotian refugees in France. Sipar then formed "hospitality groups": French people who unite to receive a family of exiles and accompany them until they are autonomous. It then had to find funds to ensure daily life, housing, work, goodwill to accompany in the administrative procedures, the schooling of the children, and then of course the sense of welcome and human warmth to share with those who take refuge with us.

1986: In the camps of Thailand

Sipar works to help refugees before they arrive in France. Sipar opened its first French classes at phanat Nikhom camp in Thailand, where refugees were waiting for their departure for France. Sipar teachers teach the French language and culture to their students to better prepare them for their integration into France. In 1989, Sipar began working in sites on the Khmer-Thaï border to prepare the populations for their repatriation to Cambodia, after the Paris agreements...

1991: Sipar arrives in Cambodia

From 1991, at the request of the Cambodian Ministry of Education, volunteer pedagogical advisors were sent to the Provincial Directorates of Education and the Schools of Pedagogy of Kompong Speu, Kompong Chhnang, Prey Veng and Kandal...

1993 - 1994: First school libraries

After the closure of refugee camps in Thailand in 1992, Sipar opened the first children's library in Cambodia in a wooden house in Kompong Speu in 1993.

After the closure of refugee camps in Thailand in 1992, Sipar opened the first children's library in a house in Cambodia. No books in Khmer: at that time children's books in their language were non-existent. Sipar has selected, purchased and imported books from France and Thailand. The texts were translated into Khmer and pasted directly into the books.

1993 to 2016: The School Libraries Program

From 1993 to 2016, in partnership with the Ministry of National Education, Sipar supported the creation of 310 school libraries.

 2000 : Début du programme bibliomobiles

In 2000, Sipar's first mobile library was born, a mobile library, financed by its own funds. Today, there are 14 mobile libraries operating in 103 sites in 7 provinces including Phnom Penh including 9 mini vans, 3 tuk-tuk library, 1 library boat and 1 motorcycle biblio on Tonle Sap Lake.

2001: Birth of the Publishing department

When Sipar started building libraries, no Khmer books existed. We translated by hand into Khmer directly on the pages of the books the texts in French or English of illustrated albums for children. Since 2001, Sipar has also become a publishing house and pioneer in its field in Cambodia. Since 2001, 3.1 million copies have been printed and 244 titles have been published for all ages, from kindergarten to adults.

notre histoire

dates clés

1982 : Naissance de sipar en france

Sipar nait afin d’aider à l’accueil et l’intégration des réfugiés cambodgiens, vietnamiens et laotiens en France. Sipar formait alors des « groupes d’accueil » : des français qui s’unissent pour recevoir une famille d’exilés et l’accompagner jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit autonome. Il faut alors trouver des fonds pour assurer le quotidien, un logement, du travail, des bonnes volontés pour accompagner dans les démarches administratives, la scolarité des enfants, et puis bien sûr le sens de l’accueil et de la chaleur humaine à partager avec ceux qui se réfugient chez nous.

1986 : Dans les camps de Thaïlande

Sipar s’engage à aider les réfugiés avant leur arrivée en France. Sipar ouvre ses premières classes d’enseignement du français au camp de Phanat Nikhom en Thailande, où les réfugiés attendaient leur départ pour la France. Les professeurs de Sipar enseignent la langue et la culture française à leurs étudiants pour mieux les préparer à leur intégration en France. En 1989, Sipar commence à travailler dans des sites à la frontière Khmero-Thaï afin de préparer les populations à leur rapatriement au Cambodge, après les accords de Paris…

1991 : Arrivée de Sipar au Cambodge

A partir de 1991, à la demande du Ministère Cambodgien de l’Education, des conseillers pédagogiques volontaires sont envoyés auprès des Directions Provinciales de l’Education et des Ecoles de Pédagogie de Kompong Speu, Kompong Chhnang, Prey Veng puis Kandal…

1993 – 1994 : Premières bibliothèques scolaires

Après la fermeture des camps pour réfugiés en Thaïlande en 1992, Sipar ouvre au Cambodge la première bibliothèque pour enfants dans une maison en bois à Kompong Speu en 1993.

Plusieurs anciens professeurs ont été recrutés et formés au métier de bibliothécaire pour animer des activités autour de la lecture. Pas de livre en khmer : à cette époque les livres pour enfants dans leur langue étaient inexistants. Sipar a sélectionné, acheté et importé des livres de France et de Thaïlande. Les textes ont été traduits en Khmer et collés directement dans les livres.

1993 à 2016 : Le programme bibliothèques

De 1993 à 2016, en partenariat avec le ministère de l’Éducation nationale, Sipar a soutenu la création de 310 bibliothèques scolaires.

 2000 : Début du programme bibliomobiles

C’est en 2000 que naît la première bibliothèque mobile de Sipar, un bibliobus, financé sur fonds propres. Aujourd’hui, ce sont 14 bibliothèques mobiles intervenant dans 103 sites de 7 provinces dont Phnom Penh dont 9 bibliobus, 3 biblio tuk-tuk, 1 biblio bateau et 1 biblio moto sur le lac Tonlé Sap.

2001 : Naissance du département Edition

Lorsque Sipar a commencé à construire des bibliothèques, aucun livre en khmer n’existait. Nous traduisions à la main en khmer directement sur les pages des livres les textes en français ou en anglais d’albums illustrés pour les enfants. Depuis 2001, Sipar est également devenue une maison d’édition et pionnière dans son domaine au Cambodge. Depuis 2001, 3,1 millions d’exemplaires ont été imprimés et 244 titres publiés pour tous les âges, de la maternelle jusqu’aux adultes.