youth empowerment

In Cambodia, 15-29 year olds represent nearly 43% of the population. In remote areas of the country, access to quality schooling is still very limited and the drop-out rate is high among young people entering the labour market, many of whom are unskilled.

Promoting the reading, education, guidance and volunteering of young people in rural society remains our priority.

Download our one pager

2021-2024: 3 years for Youth

In this context and based on experiences conducted for nearly 10 years in the field of libraries in secondary schools and youth volunteering in rural areas, a new three-year project "Employability and civic engagement of youth" was therefore launched in October 2021, co-financed by the AFD (French development agency), to improve employment prospects and strengthen civic engagement of middle and high school students, 55% of whom are girls, in 36 rural communes in 14 provinces.

This new project aims to transform 15 high school libraries into multimedia Vocational Orientation Centers (VOC) equipped with a digital laboratory serving nearly 27,000 young people, to strengthen and expand the network of 23 Community Based Youth Organisations (CBOs) and to design new printed and digital tools for the personal development and guidance of young people for the socio-educational development of communities.

learn more

youth clubs / CBO

Sipar and its local community partner Youth Star have been working together since 2011 to promote volunteerism in the remote provinces of Kratie and Prey Veng. The activities carried out by the members of these Youth Clubs (Community Grassroots Youth Organisations – CBOs) aged 8 to 20, benefit hundreds of children and adults, contributing to education and community development as well as to the promotion of youth engagement and the values of solidarity and democracy at the local level.

Clubs implement different actions within their community:

  • Itinerant reading activities thanks to the "backpack library": book loan service for children and villagers and animations around reading
  • School support for primary school students in difficulty to prevent school dropout
  • Awareness-raising campaigns among village dwellers on various themes

Orientation in high schools

Since 2019, Sipar has initiated the establishment of three pilot Guidance Centre Libraries (BCOs) in secondary schools. The first was set up at Hun Sen Kraing Sramo High School (Kampong Chhnang). In 2020, we continued this initiative with the installation of two CBOs: one, in Chi Hé High School, in Kampong Cham, with Kinal Foundation and the other at Bun Rany Hun Sen Prey Pon High School, in Prey Veng.

The partnership withPasserelles numériques NGO allows the installation of a digital laboratory, the NomadLab, offering students digital supports for guidance and the strengthening of digital skills.

Career Forum

Sipar organizes "career forums", a day of meeting between high school students and institutions, universities, NGOs and professionals from multiple fields to allow them to share academic opportunities or career prospects!

 

25

youth clubs with 560 members

79

backpack libraries

50

little teachers

33

micro-libraries in rural villages

700

beneficiaires of school support

petit prof club de jeunes

« 

My favorite activities are the backpack libraries and tutoring. Thanks to these activities, I have a lot improved my ability to work in a team, my flexibility and my research skills. That allows me to learn new skills useful for my studies. I really hope Sipar's team will keep onsupporting our activities in rural areas.

HENG Sam Oun, 18 ans,

president of Peam Muntea CBO, Prey Veng

développement de la jeunesse

Au Cambodge, les 15 – 29 ans représentent près de 43% de la population. Dans les zones reculées du pays, l’accès à une scolarisation de qualité est encore très limité et le taux d’abandon scolaire est élevé parmi les jeunes qui entrent sur le marché du travail, sans qualification pour beaucoup d’entre eux.

Promouvoir la lecture, l’éducation, l’orientation et le volontariat des jeunes dans la société rurale reste notre priorité.

Télécharger notre fiche programme

2021-2024 : trois ans pour la jeunesse

Dans ce contexte, et basé sur des expériences conduites depuis près de 10 ans dans le domaine des bibliothèques en établissements secondaires et du volontariat des jeunes en zones rurales, un nouveau projet de trois ans « Employabilité et engagement citoyen des jeunes » a donc été lancé en octobre 2021, co-financé par l’AFD, pour améliorer les perspectives d’emploi et renforcer l’engagement civique des collégiens et lycéens, dont 55% de filles, dans 36 communes rurales de 14 provinces.

Ce nouveau projet vise à transformer 15 bibliothèques de lycées en Bibliothèques Centres d’Orientation (BCO) multimédias équipées d’un laboratoire digital au service de près de 27 000 jeunes, à renforcer et étendre le réseau de 23 Organisations Communautaires de Base de la Jeunesse (OCB) et à concevoir de nouveaux outils imprimés et numériques pour le développement personnel et l’aide à l’orientation des jeunes au service du développement socio-éducatif des communautés.

lire notre article

les clubs de jeunes / OCB

Sipar et son partenaire associatif local Youth Star collaborent depuis 2011 pour promouvoir le volontariat dans les provinces reculées de Kratié et Prey Veng. Les activités menées par les membres de ces Clubs de jeunes (Organisations Communautaires de Base de la jeunesse – OCB) âgés de 8 à 20 ans, bénéficient à des centaines d’enfants et d’adultes, contribuant à l’éducation et au développement communautaire ainsi qu’à la promotion de l’engagement des jeunes et des valeurs de solidarité et de démocratie au niveau local.

Les Clubs mettent en place différentes actions :

  • Activités de lecture itinérantes grâce aux « biblio sac-à- dos » : service de prêt de livres auprès des enfants et des villageois et d’animations autour de la lecture
  • Soutien scolaire pour les élèves d’écoles primaires en difficulté afin de prévenir le décrochage scolaire
  • Campagnes de sensibilisation auprès des habitants des villages sur des thématiques diverses

orientation dans les lycées

Depuis 2019, Sipar a initié la mise en place de trois Bibliothèques Centres Orientation (BCO) pilotes dans des établissements secondaires. Le premier a été mis en place au sein du lycée Hun Sen Kraing Sramo (Kampong Chhnang). En 2020, nous avons poursuivi cette initiative avec l’installation de deux BCOs : l’une, dans le lycée Chi Hé, à Kampong Cham, avec Kinal Foundation et l’autre au lycée Bun Rany Hun Sen Prey Pon, à Prey Veng.

Le partenariat avec l’ONG Passerelles numériques permet l’installation d’un laboratoire digital, le NomadLab, offrant aux élèves des supports numériques pour l’aide à l’orientation et le renforcement des compétences numériques.

forums des carrières

Sipar organise des « forums des carrières », une journée de rencontre entre les lycéens et les institutions, universités, NGOs et les professionnels de multiples domaines afin de leur permettre de partager des opportunités académiques ou des perspectives de carrière !

 

25

Clubs de jeunes avec 560 membres

79

biblio-sac-à-dos

50

Petits profs

33

micro-bibliothèques dans les villages

700

bénéficiaires du soutien scolaire

petit prof club de jeunes

« 

Mes activités préférées sont les biblio sac-à-dos et le tutorat. Grâce à ces activités, j’ai beaucoup amélioré ma capacité à travailler en équipe, ma flexibilité et mes compétences en recherche. Cela me permet d’acquérir de nouvelles compétences utiles pour mes études supérieures. J’espère vraiment que l’équipe de Sipar continuera àsoutenir nos activités en milieu rural.

HENG Sam Oun, 18 ans,

président de l’OCB de Peam Muntea, Prey Veng